Post for 11/25/14 Class

I’ve wanted to go to a show at the Crocodile for a while now.

I get the regular emails from it promoting their amazing shows, that always include multiple acts for a low ticket price. From reading the articles about its status before closing, it sounds like it is staying true to the vision of the original Crocodile Cafe.

I never knew about R.E.M.’s connection to the Crocodile, that is amazing stuff, love R.E.M.

Your article that mentioned our love for music due to its commodification rather than its intrinsic value was very intersting. I definitely see this as a member of the Pearl Jam Ten Club, where daily people post on the group Facebook page about their collections and posters and memorabilia relating to the group. There are posts about their music and performances, but usually in the context of “I was there” and “Look at this ticket stub I have from when they played that song.” This seems to support the theories you mentioned in your article, and I can only imagine how pissed these fan club members would be if the Pearl Jam live bootleg series was only available for streaming in the library. For me, I am proud of the Pearl Jam posters and t shirts I own. I enjoy letting people I know that I am a fan of the band. The closest I’ve been to the posts from these fan club members documenting what they own is I used to Instagram my progress in collecting all of Pearl Jam’s studio albums (which took a while during my 0 income days as a middle and high school student). In this case, I was showing off a physical object with a price; my intention was to show my love for the music on the discs and inside the colorful packages, but I chose to show the CD cases rather than posting a link to a song.

One thing that I think changes the landscape of this commodity craze is the fact that people can get music for free in many ways today. Suddenly, you’re not so special if you have the latest Arcade Fire or Mos Def record, because it is usually online available for illegal download. In this way, I think that the library’s role, even if just a streaming one (like Spotify) can reverse this commodity craze by dampening the value and ownership side of music, focusing more on the songs themselves and not on then journey to purchase them.

Leave a Reply

